Tuesday, 6 May 2014

Elazığspor 0 Galatasaray 1: The Lions grab a win in Eastern Anatolia

In week thirty one of the Süper Lig Galatasaray faced Elazığspor at the Elazığ Atatürk Stadium and beat the Elazığ side one nil.

Last time both sides met in the league in Elazığ was back in November 2012 when Felipe Melo saved a last minute penalty against Göksu Türkdoğan. On the day the Istanbul side also won 1-0, Yekta scored his first goal of the 2012/2013 season. 

Burak gave the visitors the lead in the twenty fourth minute, Selçuk 's initial effort was latched onto by his fellow Turkish international team mate who tapped the ball past Elazığspor keeper Vanja Iveša.

The Lions did have a few chances particularly in the second half, one chance that springs to mind is when Aurélien Chedjou's headed clearance reached Wesley Sneijder who was able to break free and go on a darting run into the Elazığspor box. However, Vanja Iveša denied the twenty nine year old Dutch international from doubling his side's lead.

In the seventy first minute Elazığspor went down to ten men, referee Barış Şimşek quite rightly produced a red card to Tanju for a reckless tackle on Alex Telles.

Shortly afterwards substitute Rodrigo Tello went close from having a go from long range, his effort hit the post to the relief of Fernando Muslera, it was quite a strike from the former Eskişehirspor player.

The home side had a last minute corner,Vanja Iveša came up to try and salvage an equaliser for the Elazığ side, however, it was not to be as there was a goal mouth scramble and the ball was cleared to safety.

After a dismal performance against Kasımpaşa it was good to see Galatasaray back to winning ways, especially away from home which has be their downfall this season under Roberto Mancini. Bitter rivals Fenerbahçe were crowned this season's Süper Lig champions, the Yellow-Canaries drew with Black Sea side Çaykur Rizespor 0-0. Both Galatasaray and Fenerbahçe now have nineteen league titles respectively.

Tomorrow the Istanbul club face Eskişehirsporin Konya in the Ziraat Cup final, the game kicks off at 18:00 GMT.

GALATASARAY: Muslera (Ufuk 65 mins), Veysel, Semih, Chedjou, Telles, Yekta (Berk İsmail 87 mins), Melo, Selçuk, Hajrović (Emre 80 mins), Sneijder, Burak.